CBC Library Archives

All guidelines are currently in draft form and subject to change.

PURPOSE

The CBC Archives are intended to preserve items of historical value to the College and to provide a historical and chronological perspective of the college mission. They contain items pertaining to the academic and cultural growth of the institution, and to significant events that were sponsored by faculty, staff, students, administration, and campus groups such as ASCBC, the College Foundation, academic committees, clubs, etc. 

The Archives do not duplicate items that are the rightful responsibility of Academic Affairs or the registrar, such as student records, course syllabi, schedules, meeting minutes, etc., nor does it contain items of confidentiality, such as personnel records. All items in the Archives are available for public scrutiny.

ACQUISITION

Items sent to the Archives shall be evaluated by CBC Library staff for inclusion in accordance with this Archives policy. Contact library@columbiabasin.edu to contribute items to the Archives. The Archives may contain any of the following materials:

1. Monographs, scholarly articles, and other publications by faculty or staff members of Columbia Basin Community College.
2. Publications and ephemera from all departments, institutes, extension services, programs, committees, administrative units, and associated organizations of the College.
3. Publications and ephemera from all student organizations and groups.
4. Publications and ephemera from any state or county-supported organization closely associated with the College and important to the documentation of the College history.

The Archives may include items of a variety of physical formats, such as books, magazines, papers, photographs, video, audio, computer storage media, etc.

An item may be removed from the Archives if, in the opinion of the librarians, it no longer meets the objectives of the College Archives. Items may also be removed or updated if they are contained in/on a dated storage format. In the event that items are withdrawn, they may be returned to the office from which they originated.

PRESERVATION

An attempt will be made to preserve these materials throughout the life of the institution. Acid-free storage units, folders, etc. will be used to help preserve the documents. The use of the documents shall be restricted to further increase the life of the items. They are a "closed stacks" special collection.

USERS

The use of the Archives is limited to members of the College community, and to members of the public by appointment, during regular library hours. College users are strongly encouraged to schedule appointments to ensure someone is available to provide assistance.