1853 While archaeological evidence shows human habitation for thousands of years prior, the Territory of Washington was formed by Statute in March 1853, consisting of "all that portion of Oregon Territory lying and being south of the forty-ninth degree of north latitude, and north of the middle of the main channel of the Columbia River, from its mouth to where the forty- sixth degree of north latitude crosses said river, near Fort Wallawalla, thence with said forty-sixth degree of latitude to the summit of the Rocky Mountains."
The Constitution of Washington State was framed by a convention of seventy-five delegates, chosen by the people of the Territory of Washington at an election held May 14, 1889, under section 3 of the Enabling Act. The convention met at Olympia on the fourth day of July, 1889, and adjourned on the twenty-second day of August, 1889. The Constitution was ratified by the people at an election held on October 1, 1889.
1889 Statehood: On November 11, 1889, in accordance with section 8 of the Enabling Act, the president of the United States proclaimed the admission of the State of Washington into the Union (Benjamin Harrison, Proclamation 294). See also https://www.loc.gov/item/today-in-history/november-11/#washington-the-evergreen-state
The Washington State Constitution by see also
"Washington." in Robert Maddex. State Constitutions of the United States. 2nd ed. CQ Press, 2006.
Spitzer, Hugh D. "Washington: The Past and Present Populist State." in The Constitutionalism of American States. University of Missouri Press, 2008.
Washington State Research - Washington State Library index to collections, government websites, and other Washington related websites.
Main State website: http://access.wa.gov/
Administrative/Governor: https://www.governor.wa.gov/
Judicial/Courts: https://www.courts.wa.gov/
Legislative: https://leg.wa.gov/ - Members, Constitution, Laws, Bills
Seattle Times. Seattle Newspaper. Link searches EBSCO for articles with politics or government keywords. Largest circulation paper in the Pacific NW.
Spokesman-Review. Spokane Newspaper. Link searches EBSCO for articles with politics or government keywords. 3rd largest circulation paper in Washington.
Many Washington newspapers, including the Tri-City Herald, are available through Newsbank from Mid-Columbia Libraries and the Richland Public Library. CBC users are entitled to access; see this FAQ for more information.
Washington Law Review University of Washington, 1925-present. Also offers expanded coverage online. State and National legal scholarship.
Sine Die: A Guide to the Washington State Legislative Process by Current State Government News. Washington State.
NWPB Northwest News. Northwest Public Broadcasting. Vote2020 provides State and local (Benton-Franklin) debates and election coverage from the 2020 season.
TVW. Non-profit. Video - cable and streaming. Covers all three branches of Washington State government. Programs include Inside Olympia, Legislative Review, and The Impact. Also provides live streaming of hearings, meetings, and press conferences.
Educational Materials - Washington Legislature Publications, includes:
Washington State Legislative Explorer. "interactive data visualization that allows anyone to explore actual patterns of lawmaking"
Washington in Ballotpedia. Non-profit "digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections." Limited local election information includes recalls and judicial elections,
"Washington." in Donald P. Haider-Markel. Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions. CQ Press, 2009.
Washington State Politics and Government by T.M. Sell, Nebraska UP, 2023.
Adapted from https://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/statelocal/wastate under CC BY NC.
509-542-4887 library@columbiabasin.edu 2600 N 20th Ave, Pasco, WA. 99301
