Primary sources are sometimes republished at later dates. These are edited collections of primary source materials published more recently, with annotations/commentary from modern scholars.
Shaped by the West: A History of North America to 1877 by 
Shaped by the West: A History of North America from 1850 by 
Milestone Documents in American History by 
Puritans in the New World: A Critical Anthology by 
A Documentary History of the American Civil War Era (4 vols.) by 
America and the Holocaust: A Documentary History by 
Make Art Not War by 
Calls to Arms by 
"A primary source is the testimony of an eyewitness, or of a witness by any other of the senses, or of a mechanical device like the dictaphone — that is, of one who or that which was present at the events of which he or it tells" [Gottschalk, Understanding History, 53]
They can be firsthand testimony, evidence created during the time period that you are studying, or autobiographical works written later by someone present at the time. They include diaries, letters, interviews, oral histories, photographs, newspaper articles, government documents, poems, novels, plays, and music. The collection and analysis of primary sources is central to historical research.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting - 40,000 hours of public radio and television programming, 1940s to the 21st century; click link to search or browse the collection
Digital Book Index - "provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free." Massive subject index provides access to numerous history-related titles with publication dates starting in the 1400s.
Digital Public Library of America - a portal to millions of openly available digitized materials from America’s libraries, archives, and museums.
Library of Congress - American Memory - written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Also historical newspapers at https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/ and additional images are available at http://www.loc.gov/pictures/
Miller Center - The Presidency - speeches, oral histories, secret White House tapes. Many are placed in context in topic pages.
National Archives - Online Public Access - scanned documents, photographs, motion picture film or video, audio recordings, maps and drawings, and more. Includes a search tool for over a dozen presidential libraries starting with Herbert Hoover. A listing of older presidential libraries is available here: http://www.lincolnlibraryandmuseum.com/presidential-libraries.htm
Our Documents - 100 milestone documents and supporting materials. A cooperative effort among National History Day, The National Archives and Records Administration, and USA Freedom Corps.
Google Books - hundreds of thousands of digitized public domain books. Use Advanced Search to limit your search to 'Google eBooks Only' published within the time period of your topic. Alternately search using the Internet Archive, which uploads titles and adds subject headings and text searching capability.
Google Cultural Institute:
Hanford History Project Collections - photographs, oral histories, WWII era Richland Weekly Bulletin and the project Documenting African American Migration, Segregation, and Civil Rights History at Manhattan Project National Historical Park (MAPR), Hanford.
HathiTrust - digitized books and journal content. Considerable overlap with Google Books as they import any content that meets their rights determination process. Search capability combines full text searching with author, title, and Library of Congress subject heading.
Singer, Carol. Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History. Bowling Green State University. LibGuide with "a collection of pages that include primary sources for the study of U.S. history" arranged by century, State, and more.
Documenting the American South. "Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Encyclopedia Virginia - "A project of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities (VFH) in partnership with the Library of Virginia, EV publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, edited to be accessible to a general audience, and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips, and links to Google Street View tours of historic sites."
The Real Rosie the Riveter Project - Oral histories of 48 women who entered the workforce during World War II "hired for positions that had up until that time been defined as “men’s jobs” in basic industries: automobiles, shipbuilding, aircraft manufacturing, electrical equipment manufacture, and transportation."
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project - from Benjamin Ray and The University of Virginia.
University of Washington Digital Collections - rare and unique photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media. U.S. History collections include Alaska, Western Canada and United States Collection, American Indians of the Pacific Northwest, Grand Coulee Dam Construction, 1933-1942 and much more.
WSU Libraries Digital Collections provide access to the academic and cultural heritage of Washington State and the Palouse Region.
History Reference Center - offers speeches and other historical documents, photos, maps and video (in addition to numerous secondary sources). Although you can limit to 'primary source documents' there are also many documents republished in 'reference books' in the database, especially the Defining Documents series.
Issues and Controversies in history - Topic areas present a controversy or decision point in history, with discussion articles (secondary) accompanied by relevant primary sources.
Archives Unbound - The Civil War in words and deeds - regimental histories and personal narratives, 1860-65.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - volumes of letters, speeches, personal narratives, diaries and other primary sources in American history. Some titles:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
JSTOR - 175 journals in the archival collection Arts & Sciences I, some with issues back to the 1800s. A primary source if you are studying the era when the issue was published, otherwise a secondary source. Ebooks and open access collections also provide primary sources (ex. REVEAL Digital has alt-press periodicals from the late 20th C in their Independent Voices collection).
America's Historic Newspapers - American Antiquarian Society collected periodicals from 1770s through 1900+
509-542-4887 library@columbiabasin.edu 2600 N 20th Ave, Pasco, WA. 99301
