History: Databases by Resource Type

Completely (full text) searched by History OneSearch:

AAS Historical Periodicals  - American Magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912.  

Academic Search Complete  - more than 6,000 full-text periodicals, including 5,000+ peer-reviewed scholarly journals.  

eBook Collection - over 70,000 ebooks on the subject of history or the history of other subjects.

History Reference Center (EBSCO)-   numerous secondary sources - reference, magazine and journal articles, biographies, some newspaper articles. 

Mostly (records for all items) searched by History OneSearch:

Academic Video Online - thousands of documentaries, newsreels and historic videos. Primary sources if they include video from the time studied, otherwise secondary sources. Use Advanced Search for additional options.

ACLS Humanities Ebooks  - over 5000 scholarly ebooks in history and other humanities.

Gale Academic OneFile - full text peer-reviewed history journals include the Oregon Historical Quarterly.

JSTOR - thousands of scholarly history monographs (ebooks) and coverage of 175 journals in the archival collection Arts & Sciences I, some with issues back to the 1800s. A primary source if you are studying the era when the issue was published, otherwise a secondary source.

Western Historical Quarterly, 4/2001-Present, "official journal of the Western History Association, presents original scholarly articles dealing with the North American West."

Partially (records for some items) searched by History OneSearch:

ProQuest History Study Center - Primary and secondary sources for the study of history. Secondary sources include over 100 history journals and magazines which may be searched, browsed or viewed as collected in Study Units.

ProQuest - more than 2,000 full-text periodicals, including several major national and Washington state newspapers, magazines, and nearly 1,000 scholarly journals. 

Not searched by History OneSearch:

Google Scholar - Search tool for scholarly literature including 'articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions.'  Articles posted on free/open websites will have pdf links on the far right; use settings to add the Library Links to Columbia Basin College so you'll see full text links for our databases.

Issues & Controversies in History - hundreds of pro/con articles (secondary) accompanied by primary sources.